Alabama Historical Commission, Alabama SHPO



The Alabama Historical Commission is the state agency charged with safeguarding Alabama’s historic buildings and sites. Created by an act of the state legislature in 1966, it consists of 21 appointed members who represent a broad cross section of Alabamians. Architects, historians, archaeologists, and representatives of Alabama’s universities are members of the AHC.

Members of the Alabama Historical Commission

Dr. Jim Day
University of Montevallo


Vice Chair
Elizabeth Stevens
University of South Alabama



General Walter Givhan
Troy University

Steve Murray
Alabama Department of Archives & History


Ann Bedsole


Honorable Robert Bentley
Governor of Alabama


Douglas C. Purcell

Historic Chatahoochee Commission


William F. Denson III
Business Council of Alabama

Dr. Ralph Draughon, Jr.
Alabama Historical Association


Dr. Shirley Foster
University of Alabama


Trey Granger


James Griffith

American Institute of Architects


N. Gunter Guy, Jr.
Alabama Department of Conservation & Natural Resources


Mike Hubbard
Speaker of the House 

Honorable Kay Ivey
Lieutenant Governor of Alabama


Katherine Lynn
State Building Commission 


Michelle Thompson
Alabama Farmers Federation


Dr. Karen Rogers

Auburn University


Lee Sentell

Alabama Bureau of Tourism & Travel


Dr. Craig Sheldon
Alabama Archaeological Society


Dale Townsend


This web site has been financed in part with Federal funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior.  This program receives Federal financial assistance for identification and protection of historic properties. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to:

Office of Equal Opportunity

National Park Service
1849 C Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20240


Historic Preservation